Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-108: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA

STS-108 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-108 crew performed the 31st spacewalk in support of International Space Station assembly and maintenance. Learn more about the spacewalks required to build the International Space Station.

EVA Astronaut and Suit ID
Linda Godwin: Red stripes
Daniel Tani: Solid white suit

Shuttle Robot Arm Operator
Mark Kelly

Spacewalk Coordinator
Dominic Gorie

EVA 1
Linda Godwin, Daniel Tani
Actual Time: 4 hours, 12 minutes
Actual Start Time: 11:52 a.m. CST (1752 GMT) Dec. 10, 2001
Actual End Time: 4:04 p.m. CST (2204 GMT) Dec. 10, 2001

Godwin and Tani installed insulating blankets around two cylindrical mechanisms -- Beta Gimbal Assemblies -- that rotate the International Space Station's large U.S. solar array wings. They also performed get-ahead tasks in preparation for STS-110's spacewalks.

EVA Team
IMAGE:  STS-108 Mission Specialists Linda M. Godwin (left) and Daniel M. Tani
STS-108 Mission Specialists Linda M. Godwin (left) and Daniel M. Tani are about to be submerged in the waters of the Neutral Buoyancy Laboratory at the Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.
Related Links
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
*EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 04/07/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices