Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-110: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA

STS-110 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-110 crew will perform four spacewalks during its stay at the International Space Station to install and outfit the S0 (S-Zero) Truss. All four spacewalks will be based out the U.S. Joint Airlock Quest.

EVA Astronauts and Suit ID
Steve Smith (EV1): Solid red stripes
Rex Walheim (EV2): Solid white suit
Jerry Ross (EV3): Broken red stripes
Lee Morin (EV4): Diagonally broken red stripes

Station Robot Arm Operators
Ellen Ochoa
Dan Bursch

Shuttle Robot Arm Operators
Michael Bloomfield
Stephen Frick

EVA 1
Steve Smith, Rex Walheim
7 hours, 48 minutes
Start Time: 9:36 a.m. CDT (1436 GMT) April 11, 2002
End Time: 5:24 p.m. CDT (2224 GMT) April 11, 2002

STS-110 Mission Specialist Ellen Ochoa and Expedition Four Flight Engineer Dan Bursch used the International Space Station's robotic arm to lift the S0 Truss out of Space Shuttle Atlantis' payload bay and install it onto the temporary claw fixture on the U.S. Destiny Laboratory. Once the truss was attached, spacewalkers Steve Smith and Rex Walheim began setting up tools outside. The bulk of their time was spent making initial power and data connections between the station and the S0. They also bolted the two forward struts that will permanently hold the truss in place.

EVA 2
Jerry Ross, Lee Morin
7 hours, 30 minutes
Start Time: 9:09 a.m. CDT (1409 GMT) April 13, 2002
End Time: 4:39 p.m. CDT (2139 GMT) April 13, 2002

The primary focus for spacewalkers Jerry Ross and Lee Morin was the continuation of power and data cable connections between S0 and the International Space Station. They also bolted two aft struts that will permanently hold the S0 in place.

EVA 3
Steve Smith, Rex Walheim
6 hours, 27 minutes
Start Time: 8:48 a.m. CDT (1348 GMT) April 14, 2002
End Time: 3:15 p.m. CDT (2015 GMT) April 14, 2002

During STS-110's third spacewalk, Smith and Walheim released the claw that was used in the initial attachment of the S0 Truss. Then, they installed connectors that will be used to route power to Canadarm2 when it is on the truss. They also spent time working with the Mobile Transporter, releasing its many launch restraints and removing a small thermal cover from its radiator. The transporter is the structure to which the arm's Mobile Base System will be attached. The transporter will be commanded to move for the first time on Flight Day 8.

EVA 4
Jerry Ross, Lee Morin
6 hours, 37 minutes
Start Time: 9:29 a.m. CDT (1429 GMT) April 16, 2002
End Time: 4:06 p.m. CDT (2106 GMT) April 16, 2002

The final major task was the pivoting of a beam, which is called the Airlock Spur, between the Quest Airlock and the S0. The spur will be used by spacewalkers in the future as a path from the airlock to the truss. They installed handrails onto the S0, partially assembled a platform, installed two floodlights and performed several other get-ahead tasks.

EVA Team
IMAGE: STS-110 Mission Specialist Lee Morin during the mission's second spacewalk.
STS-110 Mission Specialist Lee Morin during the mission's second spacewalk.
Related Links
*Expedition Four Spacewalks
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
* EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)
* Canadarm2 and the Mobile Servicing System

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 11/24/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices