Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-111: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA

STS-111 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-111 crew will perform three spacewalks, which are also known as extravehicular activities, to continue the assembly of the International Space Station. All three extravehicular activities, or EVAs, will be based out of the station's Quest Airlock.

EVA Astronauts and Suit ID
Franklin Chang-Díaz (EV1): solid red stripes
Philippe Perrin (EV2): solid white suit

Station Robot Arm Operator
Carl Walz
Peggy Whitson
Valery Korzun

Shuttle Robot Arm Operator
Ken Cockrell

Spacewalk Coordinator
Paul Lockhart

EVA 1
Chang-Díaz, Perrin
7 hours, 14 minutes
Start Time: 10:27 a.m. CDT (1527 GMT) June 9, 2002
End Time: 5:41 p.m. CDT (2241 GMT) June 9, 2002

During STS-111's first spacewalk, Chang-Díaz and Perrin attached a Power and Data Grapple Fixture onto the International Space Station's P6 Truss, setting the stage for the future relocation of the P6. The next major task was to remove Service Module Debris Panels from Space Shuttle Endeavour's payload bay and attach them to their temporary location on Pressurized Mating Adapter 1. The shields will be installed onto the Zvezda Service Module later by station crewmembers. Then, the spacewalkers removed thermal blankets to prepare the Mobile Base System, or MBS, for installation onto the station's Mobile Transporter. The station's robot arm, Canadarm2, lifted the MBS out of the payload bay after Chang-Díaz and Perrin finished. The MBS was attached to the Mobile Transporter on Flight Day 6.

EVA 2
Chang-Díaz, Perrin
5 hours
Start Time: 10:20 a.m. CDT (1520 GMT) June 11, 2002
End Time: 3:20 p.m. CDT (2020 GMT) June 11, 2002

The second STS-111 spacewalk focused on outfitting and permanently attaching the MBS to the MT. Chang-Díaz and Perrin attached power, data and video cables from the station to the MBS. Then, they used a power wrench to complete the attachment of the MBS onto the MT.

EVA 3
Chang-Díaz, Perrin
7 hours, 17minutes
Start Time: 10:16 a.m. CDT (1516 GMT) June 13, 2002
End Time: 5:33 p.m. CDT (2233 GMT) June 13, 2002

Canadarm2's wrist roll joint was replaced during STS-111's third spacewalk. After replacing the joint on the arm, the spacewalkers stowed the old joint in Endeavour's payload bay for the journey home.

EVA Team
IMAGE: STS-111 Mission Specialist Philippe Perrin
STS-111 Mission Specialist Philippe Perrin wears a training version of the Extravehicular Mobility Unit spacesuit. Perrin was doing an underwater simulation of an extravehicular activity in the Neutral Buoyancy Laboratory near Johnson Space Center in Houston, Texas.
Related Links
*Expedition Four Spacewalks
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
* EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)
* Canadarm2 and the Mobile Servicing System

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 06/24/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices