Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-112: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA
STS-112 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-112 crew performed three spacewalks during its stay at the International Space Station. The main focus of these Extravehicular Activities, or EVAs, was the installation, outfitting and activation of the S1 (S-One) Truss. All three spacewalks were based out of the station's Quest Airlock. The three STS-112 spacewalks brought the total number of spacewalk performed at the station to 46.

EVA Astronauts and Suit ID
David Wolf (EV1): solid red stripes
Piers Sellers (EV2): solid white spacesuit

Space Station Robot Arm Operators
Sandy Magnus
Peggy Whitson

Space Shuttle Robot Arm Operators
Jeff Ashby
Pam Melroy

Spacewalk Coordinators
Pam Melroy
Fyodor Yurchikhin

EVA 1
Wolf, Sellers
Actual Time: 7 hours, 1 minute
Actual Start Time: 10:21 a.m. CDT (1521 GMT) Oct. 10, 2002
Actual End Time: 5:22 p.m. CDT (2222 GMT) Oct. 10, 2002

Wolf and Sellers emerged from the International Space Station's Quest Airlock after the S1 Truss had been attached to the S0 (S-Zero) Truss by the station's robot arm, Canadarm2. They attached power, data and fluid lines between the S1 and the S0. Other tasks for the spacewalkers included deployment of the station's second S-Band communications system, installation of the first of two external camera systems and the release of launch restraints on the truss' mobile spacewalk workstation -- the Crew and Equipment Translation Aid. Wolf and Sellers also released launch locks that held the S1's radiators in place during launch.

EVA 2
Wolf, Sellers
Actual Time: 6 hours, 4 minutes
Actual Start Time: 9:31 a.m. CDT (1431 GMT) Oct. 12, 2002
Actual End Time: 3:35 p.m. CDT (2035 GMT) Oct. 12, 2002

During STS-112's second excursion, Wolf and Sellers set up a second camera system and released more radiator beam launch locks. They worked at the base of the P6 Truss to remove insulation covers on quick disconnect fittings near the Z1 and P6 junction and to install Spool Positioning Devices. Other activities during the EVA included the release of starboard-side launch restraints on the Crew Equipment Translation Aid, or CETA, cart and the attachment of Ammonia Tank Assembly cables.

EVA 3
Wolf, Sellers
Actual Time: 6 hours, 36 minutes
Start Time: 9:11 a.m. CDT (1411 GMT) Oct. 14, 2002
End Time: 3:47 p.m. CDT (2047 GMT) Oct. 14, 2002

Wolf and Sellers removed and replaced the Interface Umbilical Assembly on the station's Mobile Transporter. They installed two jumpers that will allow ammonia coolant to flow between the S1 and S0 Trusses. Also, they released a drag link -- a large metal rod that was used as a launch restraint for the S1 -- and stowed it. Other tasks included the installation of Spool Positioning Devices on ammonia lines.

STS-112 Spacewalks
IMAGE: STS-112 Mission Specialist Piers Sellers
STS-112 Astronaut Piers Sellers works works on the International Space Station's newly installed S1 (S-One) Truss during the mission's first spacewalk.
Related Links
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
*EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 10/24/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices