Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-96: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA

STS-96 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-96 crew performed one spacewalk in support of the International Space Station. The spacewalk, which totaled 7 hours, 55 minutes, was the 45th spacewalk in space shuttle history and the fourth dedicated to the assembly of the space station.

EVA Astronaut and Suit ID
Tamara Jernigan (EV1): Solid red stripes
Daniel Barry (EV2): Solid white suit

Shuttle Robot Arm Operator
Ellen Ochoa

Spacewalk Coordinator
Julie Payette

EVA 1
Tamara Jernigan, Daniel Barry
Time: 7 hours, 55 minutes
Actual Start time: 9:56 p.m. CDT (0256 GMT) May 29, 1999
Actual End time: 5:51 a.m. CDT (1051 GMT) May 30, 1999

Jernigan and Barry transferred and installed two cranes from the shuttle's payload bay to locations on the outside of the station. Then, they installed two new portable foot restraints, and attached three bags filled with tools and handrails to be used during future assembly operations. They also installed an insulating cover on a trunnion pin on the Unity Module, documented painted surfaces on both the Unity and Zarya Modules, and inspected one of two early communications system antennas on Unity. Other tasks completed during the spacewalk included moving foot restraints into Pressurized Mating Adapter-1 and installing three bags containing tools for use during later flights.

EVA Team
IMAGE:  STS-96 Mission Specialist Daniel Barry
STS-96 Mission Specialist Daniel Barry works on the Unity Module during a spacewalk.
Related Links
*STS-96 EVA (Shuttle Press Kit)
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
* EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 04/07/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices