These scripts enable navigation. It requires javascript be enabled in your browser. Human Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight WebHuman Space Flight Web
Skip navigation to content.
Human Space Flight WebReturn to Human Space Flight home page
Human Space Flight Web
Human Space Flight Web

Expedition 10: Home | EVA | Timelines | Experiments

Expedition 10 Spacewalks

The Expedition 10 crew conducted two spacewalks during its stay at the International Space Station. The spacewalks were devoted to ISS maintenance and assembly, with activities focusing on the Zvezda Service Module.

The primary objectives of the spacewalks were the installation of an external workstation and research experiments and the preparation of the Station for the arrival of the European Space Agency's unpiloted Automated Transfer Vehicle (ATV).

Both spacewalks were based out of the Pirs Docking Compartment and used Russian Orlan spacesuits.

Learn more about the spacewalks required to build the International Space Station.

EVA Cosmonauts and Astronauts and Suit ID
Salizhan Sharipov (EV1): red stripes
Leroy Chiao (EV2): red stripes with U.S. flag shoulder patch

Spacewalk 1
Salizhan Sharipov, Leroy Chiao
Time: 5 hours, 28 minutes
Start time: 1:43 a.m. CST (0743 GMT) Jan. 26, 2005
End time: 7:11 a.m. CST (1311 GMT) Jan. 26, 2005

After they left Pirs, Sharipov and Chiao completed the installation of the Universal Work Platform, along with its base and associated wiring.

Then they turned their attention to mounting the European commercial experiment Rokviss (Robotic Components Verification on ISS). This experiment explores the use of manipulator rotary joints operated from inside Zvezda via a receiver-transmitter. Rokviss is designed to study remote operation of such joints and the effects of space on them.

Later, the duo worked together to relocate the Japanese Microparticle and Capture & Space Environment Exposure Device experiment to a new location on its rail-like mounting. That experiment exposes various materials to space. At the old location they installed a Rokviss antenna, then ran and connected cables to link a transceiver with the experiment and the antenna.

An extra hour was added to the spacewalk to allow Sharipov and Chiao to check vents on systems that help control the Stationís atmosphere and install a scientific experiment. Before re-entering the Pirs Docking Compartment, the spacewalkers installed the Russian Biorisk experiment, which is studying the impact of spaceflight on microorganisms.

Spacewalk 2
Salizhan Sharipov, Leroy Chiao
Time: 4 hours, 30 minutes
Start time: 12:25 a.m. CST (0625 GMT) March 28, 2005
End time: 4:55 a.m. CST (1055 GMT) March 28, 2005

Sharipov and Chiao installed navigational and communications equipment for the arrival of the first Automated Transfer Vehicle cargo craft. Sharipov also deployed an 11-pound Russian Nanosatellite expected to help develop small satellite control techniques, monitor satellite operations and develop new attitude system sensors.

EVA Details
Related Links
*Expedition 10 Press Kit
*Pirs Docking Compartment
*Zvezda Service Module

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 03/28/2005
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices