Return to Human Space Flight home page

Expedition Four: Home | EVA | Timelines | Experiments | Taxi Crew

Expedition Four Spacewalks

The Expedition Four crew has conducted three spacewalks during its stay onboard the International Space Station. The crew has spent a total of 17 hours and 49 minutes outside the station. Thirty-four spacewalks -- nine station-based and 25 shuttle-based -- have been conducted at the station for total of 208 hours and 5 minutes.

Learn more about the spacewalks required to build the International Space Station.

EVA Cosmonauts and Astronauts and Suit ID
Yury Onufrienko: red stripes (Spacewalk 1), blue stripes (Spacewalk 2)
Carl Walz: blue stripes (Spacewalk 1), red stripes (Spacewalk 3)
Daniel Bursch: blue stripes (Spacewalk 2), solid white suit (Spacewalk 3)

Spacewalk 1
Yury Onufrienko, Carl Walz
Actual time: 6 hours, 3 minutes
Start time: 2:59 p.m. CST (2059 GMT) Jan. 14, 2002
End time: 9:02 p.m. CST Jan. 14, 2002 (0302 GMT Jan. 15, 2002)

Onufrienko and Walz relocated the cargo boom for the Russian Strela crane. They moved the boom from Pressurized Mating Adapter 1 to the exterior of the Pirs Docking Compartment. The crew also installed an amateur radio antenna onto the end of the Zvezda Service Module. The space walk was based out of Pirs and used Russian Orlan spacesuits.

Animated videos show the locations of equipment moved during the spacewalk.

Spacewalk 2
Yury Onufrienko, Daniel Bursch
Time: 5 hours, 59 minutes
Start time: 9:19 a.m. CST (1519 GMT) Jan. 25, 2002
End time: 3:18 p.m. CST (2118 GMT) Jan. 25, 2002

During Expedition Four's second spacewalk, Onufrienko and Bursch installed six deflector shields for the Zvezda Service Module's jet thrusters. Also, they installed an amateur radio antenna, attached four science experiments, and retrieved and replaced a device to measure material from the thrusters. Like the first EVA, this one was based out of Pirs, and the spacewalkers used Orlan suits.

Spacewalk 3
Carl Walz, Daniel Bursch
Time: 5 hours, 49 minutes
Start time: 5:38 a.m. CST (1138 GMT) Feb. 20
End time: 11:25 a.m. CST (1725 GMT) Feb. 20

This spacewalk was based out of the Quest Airlock, using U.S. spacesuits. Walz and Bursch tested the airlock and prepared for the four spacewalks that will be performed during STS-110 in April. The STS-110 crew will install the S0 Truss onto the station. This spacewalk was the first spacewalk to be based out of Quest without a space shuttle at the station.

EVA Details
Imagery
IMAGE: Expedition Four Flight Engineer Dan Bursch.
Expedition Four Flight Engineer Dan Bursch participates in a spacewalk outside the Quest Joint Airlock.
Related Links
*Carl Walz's Report: Spacewalking, ISS Style
*Dan Bursch's Report: 120 Days In Space
*ISS: The NASA Research Plan, an Overview
* (Also available as a pdf file - 979k)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 06/24/2003
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices