Return to Human Space Flight home page

International Space Station Imagery

high res (0.3 M) low res (38 K)
JSC2000-E-18578 (12 July 2000) --- The Zvezda Service Module, onboard a Russian Proton Rocket, launches at 11:56 p.m. (CDT) July 11, or 4:56 GMT, July 12, 2000 from Kazakhstan's Baikonur Cosmodrome. The stack lifted off from pad 23 at launch complex 81. Zvezda will orbit Earth for two weeks as flight controllers prepare for its rendezvous and docking with the International Space Station, which is scheduled for 7:44 p.m. (CDT), July 25, or 0:44 GMT July 26, 2000. Once docked, Zvezda will become the third major component of the station, joining Node 1 or Unity and the Functional Cargo Block (FGB) or Zarya.

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 04/09/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices