Return to Human Space Flight home page

STS-109: Home | The Crew | Cargo | Timeline | EVA

STS-109 Extravehicular Activities

The STS-109 crew performed five spacewalks in support of Hubble Space Telescope servicing. The spacewalks, which totaled 35 hours, 55 minutes, occurred on five consecutive days, beginning on Flight Day 4. For more information about the equipment that the crew installed onto Hubble, visit the STS-109 cargo page.

EVA Astronaut and Suit ID
John Grunsfeld (EV1): Solid red stripes
Richard Linnehan (EV2): Solid white suit
James Newman (EV3): Broken red stripes
Michael Massimino (EV4): Diagonally broken red stripes

Shuttle Robot Arm Operator
Nancy Currie: Prime operator
Scott Altman: Backup

Spacewalk Coordinators
EVAs 2 and 4: John Grunsfeld, Richard Linnehan
EVAs 1, 3 and 5: James Newman, Michael Massimino

EVA 1
John Grunsfeld, Richard Linnehan
Time: 7 hours, 1 minute

Actual Start time: 12:37 a.m. CST (0627 GMT) March 4, 2002
Actual End time: 7:38 a.m. CST (1338 GMT) March 4, 2002

Grunsfeld and Linnehan replaced one of the telescope's two second-generation solar arrays, which is also known as SA2, and a Diode Box Assembly. The solar array was replaced with a new, third-generation solar array, which is called SA3. The space walkers also did some prep work for STS-109's other space walks.

EVA 2
James Newman, Michael Massimino
Actual time: 7 hours, 16 minutes
Actual start time: 12:40 a.m. CST (0640 GMT) March 5, 2002
Actual end time:
7:56 a.m. CST (1356 GMT) March 5, 2002

Newman and Massimino replaced the second of the telescope's new solar arrays and its Diode Box Assembly. They also replaced the Reaction Wheel Assembly-1.

EVA 3
John Grunsfeld, Richard Linnehan
Actual time: 6 hours, 48 minutes
Actual start time: 2:28 a.m. CST (0828 GMT) March 6, 2002
Actual end time: 9:16 a.m. CST (1516 GMT) March 6, 2002

During the third spacewalk, Grunsfeld and Linnehan's replaced the Power Control Unit in the Hubble Space Telescope's Bay 4. While Grunsfeld finished work with the control unit, Linnehan inspected Hubble's exterior handrails to be used on the fourth and fifth spacewalks.

EVA 4
James Newman, Michael Massimino
Actual time: 7 hours, 30 minutes
Actual start time: 3 a.m. CST (0900 GMT) March 7, 2002
Actual end time: 10:30 a.m. CST (1630 GMT) March 7, 2002

Newman and Massimino replaced the Faint Object Camera with the new Advanced Camera for Surveys. They also installed an Electronics Support Module in the telescope's aft shroud. Finally, they completed the remaining Power Control Unit cleanup tasks.

EVA 5
John Grunsfeld, Richard Linnehan
Actual Time: 7 hours, 20 minutes
Actual Start time: 2:46 a.m. CST (0846 GMT) March 8, 2002
Actual End time: 10:06 a.m. CST (1606 GMT) March 8, 2002

During STS-109's fifth spacewalk Linnehan's and Grunsfeld's activities centered around the Near-Infrared Camera and Multi-Object Spectrometer, which is also known as NICMOS. They installed a NICMOS Cryogenic Cooler and its Cooling System Radiator.

EVA Team
IMAGE:  STS-109 space walkers install Hubble PCU
Mission Specialists John Grunsfeld, left, and Rick Linnehan installed the new Power Control Unit in the Hubble Space Telescope during the third EVA.
Related Links
*STS-109 Preflight Videos
*STS-109 Press Kit
*STS-103 Spacewalks
*Wardrobe for Space
*Preparing for the ISS
* EVA Chronology PDF (3.5M)

Curator: Kim Dismukes | Responsible NASA Official: John Ira Petty | Updated: 04/07/2002
Web Accessibility and Policy Notices